Polish History Museum polski

Upcoming Events

Oct 06
Karski at Shakespeare Theatre Company

Our Generous Supporters

National Endowment For The Humanities
Polish History Museum
Consulate General of Poland in New York


The Jan Karski Educational Foundation presents  the Spirit of Jan Karski Award to individuals who, through their actions, have demonstrated the values represented by Jan Karski. We recognize those who have distinguished themselves by defending human rights and dignity, by speaking out against racism, and who guard ethnic and religious groups and sovereign nations to build an open and tolerant society.

In 2021, we are also presenting the Karski2020 Award to three young people (30 years old and younger) who have demonstrated exceptionally high standards of integrity, courage, and dedication in 2020.

The ceremony will take place on June 22, 2021, 6:00 P.M. CET (12:00 P.M. EST), at the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews in Warsaw, Poland. Please see the full list of recipients to be honored on June 22 and a link to live-streaming of the event here.


Previous honorees for the Spirit of Jan Karski Award include:

2019: Peter F. Krogh, Georgetown University’s distinguished Professor Emeritus and former Dean of the School of Foreign Service, as well as friend, boss and mentee of Jan Karski.

2016: Nicholas Kristof, The New York Times columnist and two-time Pulitzer Prize-winner, for his unflagging efforts to draw public attention to humanitarian issues around the world through his passionate reporting and powerful writing.

2014: U.S. Senator John McCain – for his courageous leadership and willingness to speak truth to power about international acts of aggression.

2013: Samantha Power, US Permanent Representative to the United Nations – for exemplary work in advancing the issue of genocide prevention. 

2012: Ewa Junczyk-Ziomecka, former Consul General of the Republic of Poland in New York – for pioneering work in promoting improved relations between the Polish Catholic and Jewish communities worldwide.